Washington D.C.

Washington D.C. is right on our doorstep, we go there quite often, especially when we have visitors. National Mall is an amazing place and full of tourists. I’ve walked it and done the hop-on-hop-off bus, on the hottest of days and the coldest. After several visits I’m still not sure if I’ve seen all the monuments and memorials but my favourites are the Lincoln Memorial, Jefferson Memorial, Roosevelt Memorial & the World War II Memorial. Visiting Arlington National Cemetery can be very emotional, especially Changing of the Guard at the Tomb of the Unknown Soldier. The cemetery averages 30 funerals per day and its strange to be playing tourist when people are mourning.

I’ve been making my way through the Smithsonian Museums, so far I’ve been to Natural History, American History, American Indian, African American, Air & Space (D.C.), Air & Space Udvar-Hazy Center (Chantilly VA) and the Smithsonian Castle and the Gardens. Favourite things I’ve seen so far are the Hope Diamond, the original Star Spangled Banner and Dorothy’s ruby slippers. I’ve also been lucky enough to have a tour of the White House, the Obamas were away at the time. I loved seeing all the photos of the past Presidents with their families and pets.

Another fun thing we did was the Cherry Blossom Parade, featuring Tiffany and the cast from Jersey Boys. I was so excited to see all the marching bands, most of them were high school bands. I have hundreds of photos over on Flickr, make sure you check them out.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

Leave a Reply

